A blog about something I don’t know

Stephen King has said he thinks the greatest mistake a writer makes is sending a manuscript out before it’s ready. It’s good advice, but that does not say when it’s ready. I’m working with a writer friend I know from the internet who has a novel that she has had kicking around for years. I read it and think it’s one of the best I’ve ever seen, but she sent it to an editor and got reasons for rejection I never would have thought of. Does the novel need yet more polishing, or is the editor full of you-know-what? I think it’s good enough now, but don’t have the eye of a professional agent to look at it.

Whether or not a work is ‘good enough’ for publishing can’t be known for certain unless you pole every agent and editor there is. Since you can’t do that, the only other option is to send it out and take whatever comes.

I’m sure many of you out there have had similar questions about your manuscripts. There’s only one way to know the answer for sure. Send it out and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

